Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship – Apply Here

In this article, you will find everything you need to know about the ongoing Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship for Nigerian students, its full requirements, and the application process.

Hi there, it’s Francis. This is the scholarship update I promised to tell you guys about last time on our  WhatsApp group about the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship to Study Abroad and its application details.

I will be explaining every single thing you need to know about this scholarship, to prepare yourself properly before clicking the application link and ti ensure that you at least stand a fair chance of being among those to qualify for the final selection.

This scholarship is fully funded by the Nigerian government in partnership with the government of the over 20 host countries for this scholarship.


This scholarship award is sponsored through the Nigerian ministry of education in partnership with the below-listed host countries for undergraduate and postgraduate students from Nigeria to study abroad fully for free.

Host Countries for the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship Undergraduate Programs

  • Russia
  • Morocco
  • Algeria
  • Serbia
  • Hungary
  • Egypt
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Cuba
  • Romania
  • Japan
  • Macedonia.

Host Countries for the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship Postgraduate Programs

  • Russia (for those whose first degrees were obtained from Russia)
  • China
  • Hungary
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • South Korea, e.t.c.

Fields of Study for the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship

Undergraduate level

Engineering, Geology, Agriculture, Sciences, Mathematics, Languages, Environmental Sciences, Sports, Law, Social Sciences, Biotechnology, Architecture, Medicine (very limited), etc.; and

Postgraduate level

(Masters Degree and PhD) in all fields

Eligibility Criteria for the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship

BEA Scholarship Undergraduate Studies Eligibility Criteria

All applicants for undergraduate degree courses must possess a minimum qualification of Five (5) Distinctions (As & Bs) in the Senior Secondary School Certificates, WASSCE/WAEC (May/June) only in the subjects relevant to their fields of study including English Language and Mathematics.

Certificates should not be more than two (2) years old (2018 & 2019) for Non-African Countries and for African countries the age of certificate is one year (2019) only.

Age limit: is from 18 to 20 years for undergraduate applicants.

BEA Scholarship Postgraduate Studies Eligibility Criteria

All applicants for Postgraduate degree courses must hold a First Degree with 1st Class or at least 2nd Class Upper Division.

The applicants who are previous recipients of Foreign Awards must have acquired at least two (2) years post qualification experience or employment practice in Nigeria.

All applicants must have completed the N.Y.S.C. Program.

i) N.Y.S.C discharge or exemption certificates only are accepted; and

ii) Evidence of readiness to be released by an employer.

Age limit: is 35 years for Masters and 40 years for Ph.D.

BEA Scholarships General Notifications for all Applicants

i) Since the BEA countries are non-English speaking, applicants should be prepared to undertake a mandatory one-year foreign Language course of the Country of choice which will be the standard medium of instruction

ii) Japan applicants must have a solid background in further mathematics;

iii) The required certificate for candidates applying for Bachelor in Imamat, Quran Teaching Professor and Imam Preacher Training for Islamic Religious studies in Algeria is WASSCE/WAEC, and no other certificate is accepted

iv) All applicants for Hungarian Scholarship can apply for up to two fields of study in order of preference, and must visit the website: www.stipendiumhungaricum.hu which will hopefully be opened between October and November 2019, Complete the application form online, print the completed form, and bring to the interview venue in addition to 2.0 above

v) All applicants for Russian Postgraduate Scholarship must have acquired their 1st Degree in Russia

vi) All Applicants to upload their certificates online

viii) The duration for Serbian undergraduate scholarship is Eight (8) years general courses and Nine (9) years for Medicine and postgraduate studies, 3-4years for MSC, and 5-6years for Ph.D.

General Requirements for the Federal Government of Nigeria Annual BEA Scholarship

NB: Candidates nominated by the Board will be required to submit to Federal Scholarship Board the following

  • Authenticated copies of academic certificates
  • Data page of the current International passport
  • Specified Medical Reports from Government hospitals
  • National Identification Number (NIN)
  • Police Clearance Certificate where necessary.

During the application, candidates are expected to indicate the following:

i) Candidates are advised to choose Computer Based Test Centre (CBT) very close to them
ii) Choice of program preferred in order of priority (i.e. Bilateral Education Agreement (BEA) and Nigerian Award

NOTE: The registration portal closes by late November or early December annually.

i. Bilateral Education Agreement (BEA): 08077884417/09094268637

You can always email the Federal Scholarship Board via fsb@education.gov.ng

For further Technical/Apps inquires please call: 08055581004

NOTE: During the selection of test centres, candidates are advised to choose a Centre very close to them as exams are usually scheduled for 9 a.m and they may not be able to meet up if they are coming from far places. 


How to Apply for the Federal Government of Nigeria BEA Scholarship

To apply for the FGN BEA scholarship through the Nigerian Federal Scholarship Board, follow the procedure below;

  1. Visit the Federal Ministry of Education’s website www.education.gov.ng
  2. Click on Federal Scholarship Board ICON on the Home Page to read Guidelines
  3. Complete the Application Form online
  4. Submit the form and Print the Examination slip.

You can as well simply Click here to begin the application.

NOTE/Warning: Double Entries will be disqualified!


Comments are closed.